Event Partner:
Kontext Annual

Kontext Annual - Interdisciplinary forum for the business of tomorrow

Kontext also organises an annual event that picks up on current and relevant topics for the design industry. It presents business cases from various industries that can act as impulses and stimuli for other sectors. Kontext Annual is interdisciplinary and non-seasonal.

Speakers from the fields of design, applied arts, research and industry provide insights into their activities and the issues they are currently involved with and fascinated by. Design-related achievements, projects and pioneering technologies are also presented at these events. Pursuing an interdisciplinary understanding of trends means identifying the drivers behind pioneering developments.

Next Event

Friday, 30 august 2019
Kino Kosmos Zurich

Kontext Annual 2019: The pursuit of happiness - Product innovation in the context of self-optimisation

The traditional client is becoming a thing of the past. The focus of the market is now on the individual, who wants to be understood as such. Conventional client classification by age, gender, status and purchasing power is on the way out.

While in the past the objective of self-optimisation was to enhance performance leading to success, the focus is now on happiness and well-being. Simple fun is giving way to meaning and responsibility.

Convenience connotes the fusion of on- and offline business into a “customer journey” that is characterised by availability, serial individualisation, experiences and personal contact with the provider.

Design-driven approaches to solutions that facilitate a fresh take on product innovation, the value chain, the “customer journey” and the sales market are required.

Building on current findings of behavioural economics, Kontext 2019 will address newly structured design processes and best practices of both established and recently formed companies and identify options for action.

We invite you to join in the discussion. Participate in the annual Kontext forum, where you will be able to tap into pathbreaking insights and solutions and network with visionaries and makers.

Programme

1.00 p.m.
Reception, Individual viewing of the KONTEXT gallery, materials and object srelating to the key themes

1.30 p.m.
Welcome address and introduction

NEO luxury - the luxury of tomorrow is today
Julia Riedmeier, consultant, Luxury Business Day project manager, INLUX GmbH, Munich

“QWSTION” the norm
Christian Paul Kägi, co-founder and creative director of QWSTION, Zurich

Move Your Mind Through Your Body – Happiness and Self-Expression Through Neuroscience based Design
Patrik Künzler, CEO and founder of LimbicLife, Zurich

Break for refreshments, discussions and exchanges

Amplified self with eco-bling – some slightly different design solutions from Asia
Namhee Lee, chief researcher, FaDI (Korea Research Institute for Fashion and Distribution Information), Seoul

The art of breaking the rules
Marcel Aeschlimann, Managin Partner and chairman of the board of directors, Creaholic Professional Inventors, Biel-Bienne

Panel discussion with the guest speakers.

5.30 p.m. to 6 p.m.
Open exchanges with the guest speakers, individual viewing of the KONTEXT gallery, materials and objects relating to the key themes, bar operated by Kosmos.

The majority of the presentations will be held in English.

Register (Registration mask only in German available)

Our Speakers

Michelle Nicol, Moderator

Co-founder of Neutral Zürich, a strategy agency that combines the fields of architecture, design and contemporary art to create economically efficient differentiation strategies and communication.


Julia Riedmeier

It is becoming ever more natural and accepted that people curate what they consume, in particular in the luxury goods segment. What is the significance of client-initiated trends such as co-creation, customisation and sustainability for business models, brands, products and marketing? Julia Riedmeier, consultant, Luxury Business Day project manager from INLUX GmbH – The Luxury Experts, Munich.

Christian Paul Kaegi

Together with four friends, industrial designer Christian-Paul Kägi founded the backpack label QWSTION in 2008, putting his holistic concept of design into practice. QWESTION’s backpacks are well known for their successful coupling of function and design with sustainability. The focus is on the creation of a versatile range of products for everyday use – with a reserved approach to aesthetics and the smallest possible ecological footprint.

Dr. Patrik Künzler

How can we evoke emotions and mental states through movements and contacts and bring together mental and physical processes in order to shape interaction with the world so it is more interesting, efficient and rewarding? At the MIT Media Laboratory, Patrik Künzler (CEO of Limbic Life, physician and neuroscientist), developed a new approach to design based on medical findings and brain research.

Namhee Lee

How can life, work, and life-style in a mega-city like Seoul be combined with the demand for sustainable action in the transformation of the individual self-optimisation society? Social obsolescence, living in confined spaces, poor air quality, state-of-the-art gadgets and technologies for checking and adjusting one’s well-being, such as radically renouncing possession, are reality in Seoul. To belong to the trendiest people in the world and to produce the hippest products is not a contradiction, but is in many ways visionary. Change means not so much sacrificing consumption as dematerialising products; money will be spent on fulfilling authenticity. Namhee Lee, presents the latest news from her work at FaDI: an initiative for a sustainable fashion and design industry in Asia.

Marcel Aeschlimann

Rediscovering ourselves and reinventing markets and processes: we are shaping our desired future ever more consciously in all areas of life and business, including at home. The question now is: what are the main success factors for attaining a robust, sustainable and technically feasible effect? Marcel Aeschlimann is a managing partner and chairman of the board of directors of the innovation factory Creaholic.

Kontext gallery: seeing and experiencing

The event features a special exhibition (Kontext gallery), which presents objects, images and materials that render the complex topics both tangible and visible. In addition to items exhibited by the guest speakers, the following will also be presented at Kontext Annual 2019:

Kontext Gallery 2019

Smellforwarddisplay Digitaltag Zhdk

SMELL FORWARD
Smell Forward is a fictional exploration focused on the sense of smell. Based on six speculative scenarios from 2029 to 2079, it offers an olfactive and visual illustration of a close future where humans and robots are living in a growing symbiosis on our planet that is sinking into ecological disaster. By giving a notion of a critical ‘hyperreality’ to prospective scenarios, these counter narratives embodied into scents stimulate our imagination and could help us actively shape new visions for tomorrow’s world.

SMELL FORWARD
Smell Forward is a fictional exploration focused on the sense of smell. Based on six speculative scenarios from 2029 to 2079, it offers an olfactive and visual illustration of a close future where humans and robots are living in a growing symbiosis on our planet that is sinking into ecological disaster. By giving a notion of a critical ‘hyperreality’ to prospective scenarios, these counter narratives embodied into scents stimulate our imagination and could help us actively shape new visions for tomorrow’s world.

Jotzu Priscille

Priscille Jotzu is an independent designer, artist and researcher based in Zurich. Her current research is centred on objects and prospective scents as communication triggers to envision and shape the future. Her work span ranges from product design, olfactive displays and creative direction to limited series for commissioned work and self-initiated projects.

Priscille Jotzu is an independent designer, artist and researcher based in Zurich. Her current research is centred on objects and prospective scents as communication triggers to envision and shape the future. Her work span ranges from product design, olfactive displays and creative direction to limited series for commissioned work and self-initiated projects.

Swing Shirt4

SWING SHIRT
In times of increasing presence of intelligent and networked electronic devices, Schoeller Textil AG sees e-textiles as a logical consequence of a networked world. To get closer to the subject of sensor technology, the company has developed the prototype "Swing" as a smart garment for the golf sector in cooperation with Pauline van Dongen. By using motion sensors and using an app control, he can monitor the golfer's tee in real time and coach him via feedback.

SWING SHIRT
In times of increasing presence of intelligent and networked electronic devices, Schoeller Textil AG sees e-textiles as a logical consequence of a networked world. To get closer to the subject of sensor technology, the company has developed the prototype "Swing" as a smart garment for the golf sector in cooperation with Pauline van Dongen. By using motion sensors and using an app control, he can monitor the golfer's tee in real time and coach him via feedback.

Dagsmejan Balance Couple
DAGSMEJAN - SLEEPWEAR REINVENTED
Sleep is essential for our health and well-being. After a good night’s sleep we awaken refreshed and full of energy and feel capable of mastering every challenge and utilising our personal potential to the full. Together with experts from the fields of sports textiles, sleep research and materials sciences, Dagsmejan has developed a new type of sleepwear that is optimally attuned to our physiological requirements when we are asleep. Dagsmejan ‒ an entirely new sleeping experience.
DAGSMEJAN - SLEEPWEAR REINVENTED
Sleep is essential for our health and well-being. After a good night’s sleep we awaken refreshed and full of energy and feel capable of mastering every challenge and utilising our personal potential to the full. Together with experts from the fields of sports textiles, sleep research and materials sciences, Dagsmejan has developed a new type of sleepwear that is optimally attuned to our physiological requirements when we are asleep. Dagsmejan ‒ an entirely new sleeping experience.
Dagsmejan Team Catarina Dahlin Andreas Lenzhofer

The founder of Dagsmejan: Catarina Dahlin and Andreas Lenzhofer.

The founder of Dagsmejan: Catarina Dahlin and Andreas Lenzhofer.

So Male 1

SO MALE

«So Male» decodes the flows within the transformation of masculinity and identifies the men’s cultures that dominate the mainstream of society and how they manifest. An analysis of 2,000 fashion images, zeitgeist and literature in the field of cultural studies reveals the basic attitudes and strategies behind three central men’s culture trends.

SO MALE

«So Male» decodes the flows within the transformation of masculinity and identifies the men’s cultures that dominate the mainstream of society and how they manifest. An analysis of 2,000 fashion images, zeitgeist and literature in the field of cultural studies reveals the basic attitudes and strategies behind three central men’s culture trends.

Nora Urscheler So Male

Nora Urscheler is a marketing strategist and concept designer, and “So Male” unites both these worlds.

Nora Urscheler is a marketing strategist and concept designer, and “So Male” unites both these worlds.

Kontext Annual is a cooperation event between Swiss Textiles und Design Prize Switzerland
Dps Banner

Pictures from Kontext Annual 2018

Swiss Textiles Kontext 054
Swiss Textiles Kontext 024
Swiss Textiles Kontext 039

Keynote Speaker Lucy Siegle.

Keynote Speaker Lucy Siegle.

Swiss Textiles Kontext 029

Julian Lings from The North Face.

Julian Lings from The North Face.

Swiss Textiles Kontext 031
Swiss Textiles Kontext 033
Swiss Textiles Kontext 036
Swiss Textiles Kontext 032
Swiss Textiles Kontext 049
Swiss Textiles Kontext 059

Kontext Annual 2017

Credits: Christian Hersche, Melvin Zöller

Veranstaltungspartner:
Kontext Annual

Konntext Annual - Interdisciplinary forum for the business of tomorrow

An der Veranstaltung Kontext Annual werfen wir aktuelle Fragen auf. Wie lässt sich die Realität der Produktion vor dem Hintergrund knapper werdender Ressourcen neu gestalten? Welche Lebensstile prägen künftig den Umgang mit Design? Im Sinne eines interdisziplinären Trendwissens geht es darum, die Treiber des Künftigen aufzuspüren. In Impulsreferaten geben Persönlichkeiten aus Design, angewandter Forschung, Kunst und Industrie Einblick in ihre Arbeit und das, was sie derzeit fasziniert. Herausragende Arbeiten und zukunftsweisende Technologien werden präsentiert.

Nächste Veranstaltung

Freitag, 30. August 2019
im Kino Kosmos Zürich

Kontext Annual 2019: The Pursuit of Happiness - Produktinnovation im Kontext der Selbstoptimierung

Der klassische Kunde verabschiedet sich, ins Zentrum des Marktes tritt der Mensch, der sich als solcher verstanden wissen will. Die klassischen Kundensegmentierungen nach Alter, Gender, Status und Kaufkraft erodieren.

Diente die Selbstoptimierung bis anhin der Steigerung der eigenen Performance zum Erfolg, so bedeutet es nun das Streben nach Glück und Gesundheit. Spass weicht dem Sinn- und Verantwortungsvollen.

Convenience konnotiert die Verschmelzung von On- und Offlinehandel zum Customer Journey, der durchgängig mit Verfügbarkeit, serieller Individualisierung, Erlebnissen und persönlichem Kontakt zum Anbieter ausgestaltet sein will.

Gefordert sind designgetriebene Lösungsansätze, die Produktinnovation, Wertschöpfungskette, Customer Journey und den Absatzmarkt neu angehen.

Ausgehend von aktuellen Erkenntnissen der Verhaltensökonomie geht die Kontext 2019 neu gelagerten Designprozessen und Best Practices von etablierten und jungen Unternehmen nach, um Handlungsoptionen aufzuzeigen.

Diskutieren Sie mit. Nehmen Sie am Forum Kontext Annual teil, um wegweisende Einblicke und Lösungsansätze zu erhalten und sich mit Vordenkern und Machern zu vernetzen.

Programm und Anmeldung

Unsere Referentinnen und Referenten

Michelle Nicol, Moderation
Mitgründerin von Neutral Zürich, einer strategischen Agentur, die die Bereiche Architektur, Design und zeitgenössische Kunst vereint, um wirtschaftlich effiziente Differenzierungsstrategien und Kommunikation zu schaffen.


Julia Riedmeier
Mit zunehmender Selbstverständlichkeit kuratieren Menschen, was sie konsumieren. Insbesondere im Luxussegment. Was bedeuten die kundeninitiierten Trends wie Co-Creation, Individualisierung, Nachhaltigkeit für Geschäftsmodelle, Marken, Führung, Produkte und Vermarktung? Julia Riedmeier ist Consultant und Projektleiterin des Luxury Business Day bei INLUX GmbH in München.

Christian Paul Kaegi
Der Industriedesigner Christian Paul Kaegi gründete 2008 mit vier Freunden das Rucksack-Label QWSTION, um sein holistisches Designverständnis in die Realität umsetzen zu können. Die Rucksäcke von QWSTION sind dafür bekannt, Funktion und Design mit Nachhaltigkeit zu verbinden. Der Fokus liegt auf der Kreation vielseitiger Produkte für den Alltag – mit einer zurückhaltenden Ästhetik und einem möglichst kleinen ökologischen Fussabdruck.

Dr. Patrik Künzler
Wie können wir durch Bewegungen und Berührungen Emotionen und mentale Zustände hervorrufen, mentale und körperliche Abläufe zusammenführen und so die Interaktion mit der Welt spannender, effizienter und lustvoller gestalten? Dr. Patrik Künzler, CEO von Limbic Life, Arzt und Hirnforscher, hat am MIT Media Lab einen neuen, auf Erkenntnissen der Medizin und der Hirnforschung basierenden Designansatz entwickelt.

Namhee Lee
Wie lässt es sich Leben und Arbeiten in einer Megacity wie Seoul im Spannungsfeld zwischen Individualisierung, Selbstoptimierung und einer nachhaltigen Lebensweise? Gesellschaftliche Überalterung, Leben auf engstem Raum, schlechte Luft, allerneuste Gadgets und Technologien zur Steigerung des Wohlbefindens wie auch radikaler Verzicht auf Besitz sind in Seoul längst Realität. Modisch zu den angesagtesten Menschen der Welt zu gehören und die hippsten Produkte hervorzubringen ist dabei kein Widerspruch, sondern in vielerlei Hinsicht visionär. Der Wandel bedeutet weniger Konsumverzicht als eine Entmaterialisierung von Produkten; das Geld wird für erfüllende Authentizität ausgegeben. Namhee Lee präsentiert Neuigkeiten aus ihrer Arbeit bei FaDI, einer Non-Profit-Organisation für eine nachhaltige Mode- und Designindustrie in Asien.

Marcel Aeschlimann
Sich selbst neu erfinden, Marken neu erfinden, aber auch Prozesse neu erfinden. In allen Lebens- und Geschäftsbereichen gestalten wir immer bewusster die gewünschte Zukunft. So auch im Bereich des Wohnens. Die Frage stellt sich nun: Welches sind dabei die zentralen Erfolgsfaktoren, um robuste, nachhaltige sowie auch technisch umsetzbare Wirkung zu erzielen? Marcel Aeschlimann ist Managing Partner und Verwaltungsratspräsident der Innovationsfabrik Creaholic.

Erleben und Erfahren

Die Ausstellung Kontext Gallery begleitet die Veranstaltung. Sie macht über Objekte, Bilder und Materialien die komplexen Themen haptisch und visuell erfahrbar. Neben Objekten, die von den Referent*innen ausgestellt werden, sind an der Kontext Annual 2019 unter anderem folgende Positionen vertreten:

Kontext Gallery 2019

Smellforwarddisplay Digitaltag Zhdk

«Smell Forward» konzentriert sich auf den Geruchssinn, der als Werkzeug zur Vision unserer Zukunft genutzt wird. Grundlage des Projekts ist die Untersuchung der wachsenden Präsenz von olfaktorischen Manifestationen im Spektrum von Kunst, Design und Marketing, die ihre Relevanz für unsere sensorische Erfahrung bestätigt. Der Geruchssinn wird bis heute unterschätzt, dabei bietet er eine substantielle wie immersive Erfahrung an. In diesem Projekt wird er in sechs fiktiven Szenarien angewendet, die mögliche zukünftige Entwicklungen antizipieren und erforschen. Die in den Szenarien beschriebenen hypothetischen Zeiten werden in Gerüche übersetzt: Jede Geschichte dient als Briefing, um maßgeschneiderte Düfte zu kreieren. «Smell Forward» kristallisiert Duftszenarien mit dem Ziel, eine nicht allzu ferne Zukunft, in der die Erde gleichsam von Menschen und Robotern mit künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) bevölkert wird, olfaktorisch erfahrbar zu machen.

«Smell Forward» konzentriert sich auf den Geruchssinn, der als Werkzeug zur Vision unserer Zukunft genutzt wird. Grundlage des Projekts ist die Untersuchung der wachsenden Präsenz von olfaktorischen Manifestationen im Spektrum von Kunst, Design und Marketing, die ihre Relevanz für unsere sensorische Erfahrung bestätigt. Der Geruchssinn wird bis heute unterschätzt, dabei bietet er eine substantielle wie immersive Erfahrung an. In diesem Projekt wird er in sechs fiktiven Szenarien angewendet, die mögliche zukünftige Entwicklungen antizipieren und erforschen. Die in den Szenarien beschriebenen hypothetischen Zeiten werden in Gerüche übersetzt: Jede Geschichte dient als Briefing, um maßgeschneiderte Düfte zu kreieren. «Smell Forward» kristallisiert Duftszenarien mit dem Ziel, eine nicht allzu ferne Zukunft, in der die Erde gleichsam von Menschen und Robotern mit künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) bevölkert wird, olfaktorisch erfahrbar zu machen.

Jotzu Priscille

SMELL FORWARD - Priscille Jotzu ist eine in Zürich ansässige freischaffende Designerin, Künstlerin und Forscherin. Ihre Forschungsarbeit ist auf Objekte und zukünftige Düfte fokussiert, die als Kommunikationsimpulse für die Vorstellung und Gestaltung der Zukunft dienen. Ihre Arbeit umfasst Produktdesign, olfaktorische Ausstellungen, kreative Leitung und limitierte Serien für Auftragsarbeiten und eigene Projekte.

SMELL FORWARD - Priscille Jotzu ist eine in Zürich ansässige freischaffende Designerin, Künstlerin und Forscherin. Ihre Forschungsarbeit ist auf Objekte und zukünftige Düfte fokussiert, die als Kommunikationsimpulse für die Vorstellung und Gestaltung der Zukunft dienen. Ihre Arbeit umfasst Produktdesign, olfaktorische Ausstellungen, kreative Leitung und limitierte Serien für Auftragsarbeiten und eigene Projekte.

Swing Shirt4

In Zeiten zunehmender Präsenz intelligenter und vernetzter elektronischer Geräte sieht die Schoeller Textil AG E-Textilien als logische Konsequenz hin zu einer vernetzten Welt. Um sich dem Thema Sensorik anzunähern, hat das Unternehmen in Kooperation mit Pauline van Dongen den Prototypen «Swing» als Smart Garment für den Golfsektor entwickelt. Durch Einsatz von Bewegungssensoren und Nutzung einer App-Steuerung kann er den Abschlag des Golfspielers in Echtzeit überwachen und ihn über entsprechendes Feedback coachen. Die Schoeller Textil AG entwickelt und produziert als global agierender Textilhersteller innovative Textilien und Textiltechnologien, die in Nischenmärkten weltweit führend sind.

In Zeiten zunehmender Präsenz intelligenter und vernetzter elektronischer Geräte sieht die Schoeller Textil AG E-Textilien als logische Konsequenz hin zu einer vernetzten Welt. Um sich dem Thema Sensorik anzunähern, hat das Unternehmen in Kooperation mit Pauline van Dongen den Prototypen «Swing» als Smart Garment für den Golfsektor entwickelt. Durch Einsatz von Bewegungssensoren und Nutzung einer App-Steuerung kann er den Abschlag des Golfspielers in Echtzeit überwachen und ihn über entsprechendes Feedback coachen. Die Schoeller Textil AG entwickelt und produziert als global agierender Textilhersteller innovative Textilien und Textiltechnologien, die in Nischenmärkten weltweit führend sind.

Dagsmejan Balance Couple

DAGSMEJAN - SLEEPWEAR REINVENTED

Schlaf ist lebenswichtig. Nach einer erholsamen Nacht fühlen wir uns voller Energie und bereit, alle Herausforderungen zu meistern und unser volles Potenzial auszuschöpfen. Zusammen mit Expertinnen und Experten auf den Gebieten der Sporttextilien, Schlafforschung und Materialwissenschaften hat Dagsmejan eine neue Art von Schlafbekleidung entwickelt, die optimal auf die physiologischen Bedürfnisse des schlafenden Körpers abgestimmt ist. Dagsmejan – eine ganz neue Schlaferfahrung.

DAGSMEJAN - SLEEPWEAR REINVENTED

Schlaf ist lebenswichtig. Nach einer erholsamen Nacht fühlen wir uns voller Energie und bereit, alle Herausforderungen zu meistern und unser volles Potenzial auszuschöpfen. Zusammen mit Expertinnen und Experten auf den Gebieten der Sporttextilien, Schlafforschung und Materialwissenschaften hat Dagsmejan eine neue Art von Schlafbekleidung entwickelt, die optimal auf die physiologischen Bedürfnisse des schlafenden Körpers abgestimmt ist. Dagsmejan – eine ganz neue Schlaferfahrung.

Dagsmejan Team Catarina Dahlin Andreas Lenzhofer

Catarina Dahlin und Andreas Lenzhofer, die Gründer von Dagsmejan.

Catarina Dahlin und Andreas Lenzhofer, die Gründer von Dagsmejan.

So Male 1

«So Male» decodiert die Strömungen innerhalb des Wandels der Männlichkeiten, schält heraus, welche Men’s Cultures die Mitte der Gesellschaft dominieren und wie sie sich zeigen. Die Analyse von 2000 Fashionbildern, der Zeitgeist und kulturwissenschaftliche Literatur legen die Grundhaltungen und Strategien drei zentraler Trends von Men’s Cultures offen.

«So Male» decodiert die Strömungen innerhalb des Wandels der Männlichkeiten, schält heraus, welche Men’s Cultures die Mitte der Gesellschaft dominieren und wie sie sich zeigen. Die Analyse von 2000 Fashionbildern, der Zeitgeist und kulturwissenschaftliche Literatur legen die Grundhaltungen und Strategien drei zentraler Trends von Men’s Cultures offen.

Nora Urscheler So Male

Nora Urscheler ist Marketing-Strategin und Konzeptdesignerin – «So Male» verbindet beide Welten.

Nora Urscheler ist Marketing-Strategin und Konzeptdesignerin – «So Male» verbindet beide Welten.

Kontext Annual ist eine Kooperation von Swiss Textiles und Design Preis Schweiz
Dps Banner

Rückblick auf die Kontext Anual 2018

Swiss Textiles Kontext 054
Swiss Textiles Kontext 024
Swiss Textiles Kontext 039

Keynote-Speaker Lucy Siegle, Journalist and Author, The Guardian

Keynote-Speaker Lucy Siegle, Journalist and Author, The Guardian

Swiss Textiles Kontext 029

Julian Lings from The North Face about Sport and Sustainability

Julian Lings from The North Face about Sport and Sustainability

Swiss Textiles Kontext 031
Swiss Textiles Kontext 033
Swiss Textiles Kontext 036
Swiss Textiles Kontext 032
Swiss Textiles Kontext 049
Swiss Textiles Kontext 059

Kontext Annual 2017

Bildquellen: Christian Hersche, Melvin Zöller